Paul Mavhima Dissolves NSSA Board With Immediate Effect
3 November 2020

Paul Nyathi

Minister Paul Mavhima

PUBLIC Service Minister Paul Mavhima, has dissolved the entire NSSA Board with immediate effect.

The National Social Security Authority board chaired by Cuthbert Chidoori was appointed by the then Public Service Minister Sekai Nzenza in February 2019.

Other board members were; Priscilla Mujuru, Mufaro Moyo, Cecilia Alexander, and Arthur Manase.

Mavhima said the move to fire the board is a response to “emerging issues in the world of work”.

“The National Social Security Authority (NSSA) is currently engaged in a strategic reorganisation and restructuring exercise which has been necessitated by the need to respond to emerging issues in the world of work and align its mandate with the national development agenda,” Mavhima said.

“Accordingly, the NSSA board has been dissolved with immediate effect to pave way for this transformation. The Ministry of Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare wishes to express its most sincere gratitude to members of the outgoing board for their contribution to NSSA during their term of office.”

“In the meantime, a three-member interim board will oversee the administration of the authority while a substantive board will be constituted within three months.”

Mavhima did not mention the names of the three interim board members.