MDC Alliance Activists Still Detained Over ZEC Offices Gathering
2 October 2021
Spread the love

MDC Alliance Harare Provincial Youth Secretary, Tatenda Johanes Karichi who is a tax Driver and Chrispen Bvirwa are still detained at Harare Central police station for Unlawful gathering.

The trio and about eight Journalist who were later released have been arrested early Thursday at Zimbabwe Electoral Commision offices in Harare.

Speaking to Denford Ngadziore, he said only Journalists were released while him and other two other leaders are Still in custody.

‘I and other two leaders are  Still detained for unlawful gathering. Only journalists were released”, he said.

Earlier in the morning, MDC Alliance Youth National Spokesperson Stephen Sarkozy Chuma issued a statement  condemning the arrest and the detention of Harare Province leadership.

“The MDC Alliance Youth Assembly is riled by the arrest and detention of its leaders from Harare Province today.

“We condemn in strongest terms the arrest of our youth leaders for exercising their right to petition and demonstrate as enshrined in Section 59 of the country’s supreme law, The Constitution of Zimbabwe.

“Among those arrested is Harare Province’s Secretary, Denford Ngadziore. Apart from our youth leaders, nearly 8 journalists were rounded up by the police. This is a clear indication too that Emmerson Mnangagwa’s regime has criminalized journalism.

“Those arrested were picked up near ZEC Provincial Offices at Cecil House.
“As the MDC Alliance Youth Assembly, we want to put it clear to the regime that the arrests are illegal and unconstitutional!

“The regime is behaving worse than terrorist organizations like Boko Haram on its very own citizens hence threatening peace if citizens are to respond.

“A regime that does not respect citizens’ rights like that of Mnangagwa risks public anger and is a threat to peace. We demand for the immediate release of our members”, said Chuma.

Meanwhile, Zimbabwe Lawyers for Human Rights are at the Central representing Ngadziore, Tatenda Johanes Karichi and Chrispen Bvirwa.