Key Chamisa MPs On No Show At Mnangagwa’s SONA
8 October 2021

By A Correspondent- The Nelson Chamisa led MDC Alliance Members of Parliament yesterday did not attend President Emmerson Mnangagwa’s State of the Nation Address (SONA) that was held at the Parliament Building.

Zengeza West Job Sikhala, Mutare Central Innocent Gonese, Harare North Rusty Markham, Harare West Joanna Mamombe, and Magwegwe Anele Ndebele were among those who boycotted.

MDC Alliance MPs have since 2018 been boycotting Mnangagwa SONA addresses and other parliamentary events he attends.

The snub was in response to claims by their party leader, Nelson Chamisa, that Mnangagwa rigged the results of the 2018 presidential election. Chamisa lost narrowly to Mnangagwa in that election.